What's new

How good is McAfee?

Mr Nash

Hyper Poster
I've always used Norton Internet Security as an anti-virus on my computer.But my yearly subscription runs out in three weeks,and to renew it will cost £55,which has shot up in price since last year.

Somebody I know told me they use McAfee,and that they've never had any problems or viruses while using it.But I'm a bit worried that if somethings free,it can't be that good.

So,is anybody using it,or has used it,or has any horror stories about it?

Feedback will be greatfully received. :--D

jayjay

Giga Poster
My feedback:

Don't use Norton. Really don't use it.

Other than that, I'm no expert on security software. I think McAfee is well recieved by people who know these things. If you're bothered by the fact it's free, find a version of something (not Norton) that you have to pay for which has good reviews. then at least, you'll have the assurance that it's doing a good job.

Mr Nash

Hyper Poster
jayjay said:
My feedback:

Don't use Norton. Really don't use it.

I've only ever used Norton tbh,never had any problems with it,although it does slow the computer down considerably when scanning.My only moan is the price hike for the update.

Snoo said:
2. AVG is the best antivirus out there, and it is free.

Yep,I've heard of them as well,I take it that's who you use?

Snoo said:
1. Why did you change your name?

Sexy ain't it. :wink:

Snoo

The Legend
1. It is kinda weird. You could have used a 'Mr. Nash'.. woulda been sexier. :p
2. Yeah. I have Norton, but it is a free thing that came with my computer. I'm all about AVG or, as Erol said, Zone Alarm.

ciallkennett

Strata Poster
My opinion: Most pay for security is naff. I use NOD32, which is free, and the best security that I can find.

I suggest using this :D

furie

SBOPD
Staff member
Administrator
Zone Alarm is too clunky. You'll find yourself yelling constantly at your PC to make it go.