What's new

That moment when you realize ...

MestnyiGeroi

Giga Poster
I'm sure that everyone here has had a similar experience: you're having a conversation with someone who purports to be a real coaster enthusiast, but at some point in the conversation it becomes evident that this person hasn't seen the 1977 film _Rollercoaster_ and the façade comes crashing down.

This raises an interesting philosophical question: Could there be some point at which a person rides enough coasters (assumedly, it would have to be in the thousands) so as to eventually *compensate* for this egregious deficit and become an honorary 'enthusiast' in some sense, or is this sort of lacuna simply an unbridgeable chasm?

nadroJ

CF Legend
I've never seen it and honestly hadn't heard of it until this post. And I have a Film Degree.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

davidm

Strata Poster
It's available on Netflix
US Netflix maybe, not in the UK tho' :(

Anyway, always a good excuse to post a picture of my living room wall :)
34057606322_ebe7832e33_c.jpg

Sandman

Giga Poster
I think to have watched the film Rollercoaster as a rite of passage into coaster enthusiasm is a bit of an outsider stereotype. It's something my mum would have expected me to have seen because I happen to enjoy riding rollercoasters, but the narrative of the film has little to no relevance in that, so it doesn't interest me (I've coincidentally seen the film). I'd happily watch coaster documentaries though, but I draw the line at Coaster Wars. That is one hell of a naff show.

MestnyiGeroi

Giga Poster
I've never seen it and honestly hadn't heard of it until this post. And I have a Film Degree.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Aw. I can appreciate what a difficult day this must be for you -- when your erstwhile expertise in two areas is suddenly exposed as a charade. Stay strong.

;)

MestnyiGeroi

Giga Poster