What's new

Slayed attempts the Chicago Marathon!

Slayed

Hyper Poster
Yes, after nearly 6 months of training the time has finally arrived!

I'm on my way to Heathrow now, flying out to Chicago in the morning, and getting ready to run 26.2 miles on Sunday with 45K equally stupid individuals :p.

So why am I partaking of this idiocy?

My mate Richard's been asking me to join him in the London Marathon for a few years, but that means training over the winter and I like to go into hibernation.

However when he asked me about the Chicago Marathon, I no longer had the same excuse so gave in :p.

I'm also running for charity, since my wife's currently cycling across Jordan (the country, not the tart) for a baby health charity - she'll be finishing just before I start.

Before I started training for this the longest event I'd run was the Great South Run which is 10 miles. Since then I've done the Newark Half Marathon and managed a 22 mile run last month (which bloody hurt!).

The training schedules say you have to "taper" the training in the last 3 weeks, which means apart from a few 10Ks I've had to back off, which feels weird. I'll find out on Sunday if it worked or not!

The race should be starting at 1:30pm UK time, and I'll be trying to keep up to date on Twitter during the run (Slayed06).

Right now I'm excited and scared in fairly equal measure!

I'll let you know if I survive :p.

Peter

Hyper Poster
Good luck mate. :)

I forgot to ask you at the weekend, are you getting any credits over there aswell? :p

Ollie

CF Legend
Good luck Slayed. A bit far to go for a run though.
Hopefully you'll reward yourself with some credits. ;)

peep

CF Legend
Good luck Mark! Hope it all goes well for you. Are you doing it for the same charity that your Wife chose?

Slayed

Hyper Poster
Thanks guys!

Yes Peep, it's the same charity (run by Prof Winston, the one with the 'tache on BBC documentaries).

I'm in the biggest Premier Inn ever at Heathrow, it's hooge!

Error