What's new

Mid Hants Railway

Peter

Hyper Poster
Today me and a few mates went to hit the Mid Hants Railway (also known as the Watercress line.) A few of you know that I work on a narrowguage steam railway as a driver, so we occasionally go up and gawp at the big engines.

The pictures arn't fantastic, but meh.

The day starts at Alresford Station:

vpzwic.jpg

r01s9t.jpg

2h5odbm.jpg

o0qyx5.jpg

Our engine today was No. 34007, Wadebridge.

25493256.jpg

6rjbyf.jpg

We were about 30 minutes early, so got talking to the fireman, who then invited us up into the cab!

93949544.jpg

Being a steam driver myself, it was great fun looking around the cab of a mainline engine. It was lovely and warm in there, and that was with the engine stationary and not doing any work. God knows how hot it gets when she's pulling up the hills!

18482039.jpg

29950563.jpg

So its off on our journey to Alton! (There are no towers at this Alton though :( ) First Station we pass is Ropley, which also has the engine yard, so lots of opportunity to see the other engines the railway has.

2yod7xc.jpg

27748823.jpg

21505616.jpg

38174837.jpg

Best part of the day comes next, when I receive texts from Ollie and Slayed telling me to get in contact with Ian immediatly. A quick phone call to Ian confirms I have a place on the Saw preview day on Thursday. :lol:

We continue up hill, over the alps (that's what they call the highest point of the track at this railway) and then down into Alton about an hour after we left Alresford.

88416319.jpg

Alton is also a main line station. The engine then shunts over to the other end of the train, to pull us back.

54033835.jpg

28716723.jpg

Its a steep hill out of Alton, and the engine was really pulling hard. Lots of steam, smoke and noise. It's lovely sticking your head out the window and watching the engine work. :--D

47754125.jpg

We were very close to the engine though, so getting decent pics was hard.