What's new

I'm getting a new laptop in the next few months

chrisgeorgiou46

Roller Poster
Under a grand, and honestly the only specific thing I want is it to run this game very well haha
I'm a Londoner, so pound sterling please, and laptops available in the UK. I'm not really a tech-y.

chrisgeorgiou46

Roller Poster
I could have sworn I posted this in the Planet Coaster section. Oops.

Anyway, yeah, I need it for work stuff too, but I can use any laptop for that, so I guess the only specific thing is I want to it be able to support this game.

Hixee

Flojector
Staff member
Administrator
Social Media Team
I could have sworn I posted this in the Planet Coaster section. Oops.
Don't worry, I think you have!

I'm afraid I can't really help, as I've been using a desktop for gaming for a few years now and am completely out of touch with the laptop market at the moment. There are a few more computing savvy guys on here though so they might be able to help.

furie

SBOPD
Staff member
Administrator
I always hate recommending laptops. You never know until they're 12 months old just how robust they are.

What I would say is just go for a specifically named having laptop and read as many reviews as you can to get a feel for it.

Planet Coaster is quite gpu intensive, so it needs a decent graphics card (nvidia or at). It will also run hot, hence why you'll need a gaming laptop that has good cooling performance, otherwise you'll find it shutting down regularly.

Basic advice is:

If you're buying a laptop to work on, but want to game as well, buy a laptop and a PlayStation or Xbox.

If you want to game, buy a gaming desktop.

If you want a laptop for gaming, go with a gaming laptop, but you'll pay more for considerably less power than a desktop.

Oh. Only buy a laptop if you need to have it with you a lot. If it's going to sit on a desk for months, always buy a desktop.

Sent from my E6683 using Tapatalk

scw55

Hyper Poster